Recount elevates three to Nyssa City Council

A recount of votes elevated Morganne DeLeon, Dennis Savage and Patricia Esplin to three slots on the Nyssa City Council. (The Enterprise/File).

VALE – The final tally of votes for four Nyssa City Council members did not change after the Malheur County Clerk’s office finished a recount Wednesday.

Candidates Morganne DeLeon, Dennis Savage and Patricia Esplin all finished within one vote after the Nov. 8 election which triggered the administrative hand recount by the clerk’s office.

Four slots were open on the council, including three, four year terms and one two-year term. The three candidates that collected the most votes secured four-year terms while the individual who acquired the fourth-highest number filled the two-year council slot.

Candidates Betty Holcomb and Pat Oliver clinched two of the four-year term slots after the election but DeLeon, Savage and Esplin all finished within one vote.

DeLeon collected 306 votes while Savage amassed 305 votes and Esplin received 304.

According to the clerk’s office and none of the final numbers changed. While the city of Nyssa must certify the clerk’s numbers the hand count showed DeLeon will secure a four-year term on the city council while Savage will step into a two-year term position.