Local government

Candidates in Nyssa, Vale and Ontario win seats after election

VALE – The Nyssa City Council will have a new face if unofficial results hold up. 
Incumbent Councilors Betty Holcomb, Morganne DeLeon, and Pat Oliver are on a glide path to reelection, while challenger Juan Ramos appears to be outpolling incumbent Ron Edmonson. 
The top three finishers among the seven candidates will serve four-year terms while the fourth place will serve two years. The new council will select the next mayor in January. Holcomb is the current mayor.
The vote counts with unofficial total results on Wednesday, Nov. 9, are Holcomb 407, DeLeon 335, Oliver 332 and Ramos 300. Challengers Mark Shuster and Jerry Holmes earned 230 and 183 respectively.
Ramos could not be reached for comment. 
The seats held by City Councilors Roberto Escobedo, Krissy Walker, Patricia Esplin will be up for grabs in 2024.
Three candidates ran for three seats on the City Council. Incumbent Christine Phillips had 417 votes, newcomer Jeremiah Storhmeyer 395, and incumbent Monty Bixby 384.
Mayor Tom Vialpando ran unopposed for second term and garnered 474 votes, while 19 people wrote in another candidate. 
With three candidates running for three open seats on Adrian’s City Council, Carlos Mendoza led the way with 43 votes to win another term, while incumbent Tom Pierce had 38 and newcomer Karen Olsen had 36.
In Jordan Valley, incumbents Mary Aguila and Michael White ran unopposed for two seats on the city council. Meanwhile, there was no candidate filing for a third seat. However, the election results showed 22 write-in votes for that seat.

EXCELLENCE IN JOURNALISM – Available for $7.50 a month. Subscribe to the digital service of the Enterprise and get the very best in local journalism. We report with care, attention to accuracy, and an unwavering devotion to fairness. Get the kind of news you’ve been looking for – day in and day out from the Enterprise.