Five contested races on the Malheur County May election docket

The May 21 special election in Malheur County will fill many local board positions, but most candidates are running unopposed. (The Enterprise/File).

VALE – Malheur County voters will see only five contested races in the special district election on May 21.

Two will be on ballots in Ontario – one for a seat on the Ontario School District board and the other for an Ontario Parks and Recreation District board seat. Two will be for seats on the Nyssa School Board. One will be for a seat on the Juntura Rural Road Assessment District.

The deadline was last Thursday, March 21, for candidates to file to run for the local board offices and be listed on the ballots.

Across the county, there were no filers for four positions – one in the Arock School District, two in the Juntura . . .