Malheur County educators receive state recognition

The Malheur Youth Transition Program team includes Christa Maupin, Debbie Durham, Dannette Hackman and Kirsten Reid. Durham was honored with an Innovative Agency award. (Submitted photo)

NYSSA – Two local educators were recently honored at the Oregon Statewide Transition Conference at Eugene.

Ryan Hawkins, director of operations at the Nyssa School District, was honored the Outstanding Administrator award, while Debbie Durham, transition specialist supervisor at Malheur Education Services District, received the Innovative Agency Provider Award.

Dannette Hackman, a transition specialist who works with the Malheur Education Services District, said she nominated Hawkins because of the level of help and support he gives to not only students, but people in his community.

“You often don’t have someone at that high level in school administration come down and help,” said Hackman. “It’s just so cool to see an administrator get . . .