EOL athletes receive league honors

Nyssa running back Jo Jo Sanchez scores a touchdown during the playoff game against Willamina. Sanchez was named co-defensive player of the year for the Eastern Oregon League. (Photo by Malerie Long)

Defensive players of the year: Jo Jo Sanchez (Nyssa), Clay Siddoway, (Vale).

Co-offensive play of the year: Colton Kesey (Vale).

1st Team offense:

Tight end: Elijah Cleaver, (Nyssa)

Running back- JoJo Sanchez, (Nyssa).

Wide receivers- Pedro Chavez, (Nyssa), Tanner Hamilton (Vale).

Offensive lineman: Adam Simpson, (Nyssa) and Cameron Elguezabal, (Nyssa).

1st Team defense

Linebackers: Jose Sanchez, (Nyssa), Dearden Woodruff, (Nyssa) Clay Siddoway, (Vale), Jared Fulwyler, (Vale).

Defensive lineman: Johathan Lopez, (Nyssa), Kade Haueter (Vale).

Defensive back: Tanner Hamilton, (Vale), Augustin Trujillo, (Nyssa).

2nd Team offense

Quarterback: Colton Kesey (Vale)

Tight end: Kate Haueter, (Vale)

Running back: Matt McBride, (Vale), Caleb Benson, (Nyssa)

Honorable mention running back: Dearden Woodruff, (Nyssa).

Wide receiver: Jared Fulwyler (Vale), Augustin Trujillo (Nyssa).

Offensive lineman: Jake Aldred, (Vale), Isael Lopez, (Vale), Tanner Castro, (Nyssa, Jorge Ortiz (Nyssa)

Honorable mention offensive lineman: Johnathan Lopez, (Nyssa).

2nd Team defense

Linebacker: Elijah Cleaver, (Nyssa), Matt McBride, (Vale).

Defensive lineman: Adam Simpson, (Nyssa), Cameron Elguezabal, (Nyssa), Lucas Villastrigo, (Vale), Jacob Graviet, (Vale).

Defensive back: Aidan Moyes, (Nyssa). Pedro Chavez, (Nyssa) TJ Speelman, (Vale).

Honorable mention:

Linebacker: Trevor Romans, (Vale).

Defensive back: Raul Ruiz, (Nyssa), Joe Bentz, (Vale).

Defensive lineman: Jorge Ortiz, (Nyssa), Bryan Flores, (Nyssa)

Kick returner of the year: TJ Speelman, (Vale).