Court pushes economic board list to governor

By Pat Caldwell

The Enterprise
VALE — Gov. Kate Brown will soon review a list containing 25 local names to consider for appointment to a new economic board.
The Malheur County Court last week finalized its recommendations for the seven-member Eastern Oregon Border Economic Development Board that will oversee the new economic region encompassing Malheur County areas that border Idaho.
“The governor and her staff will look it over,” said Dan Joyce, Malheur County judge.
The Legislature created the board and furnished $5 million to use for grants and loans on economic and workforce development projects. The board can also seek waivers or exemptions from state laws and regulations it deems to be impeding economic development in the county.
The board is separate from one established by the county court to oversee the new rail shipping facility.
The governor will appoint the members of the board from the . . .